Letter to Normals (Part 9 – Finally Finished!!)

The last symptoms I will mention are neuropathy and parasthesia. I have neuropathy and/or parathesia at times in my arms, fingers, legs, and toes. Sometimes m fingers or toes feel very numb or hut a lot. Sometimes my feet and arms will tingle or feel like pins and needles. Other times it may feel like I’m getting electric shocks in my arms or legs. They may even feel like they’re burning. Just because it doesn’t feel like it‘s burning if you touch it does not mean that I am not experiencing the burning on my skin. I can promise I will not lie about what I am experiencing and if I say it burns then it really does burn. Sometimes I may lose some sensation in my hands. Everything I touch feels like I’m not really touching it. If you can imaging feeling something through a piece of plastic wrapped around your finger that is what it kind of feel like, not like a glove but like a relatively thick plastic. I may also have very sensitive skin. When this is happening you may slightly touch me and I will make some sort of squeal or yelp. I know that you didn’t intend to hurt me and it’s not your fault. Even a slight breeze or getting dressed can hurt when I am experiencing this so don’t feel bad.

I have other symptoms that I don’t prefer to talk about. “Some of these symptoms are embarrassing and hard to talk about it but I promise to try” if it’s really important to you. If you look it up, and see something really ‘different,’ I’d really appreciate it if you asked because everyone with fibro has some variety within their symptoms. “I hope that you will have patience with me through these things.” I try really hard not to constantly mention my illness and dwell on it. I don’t want it to come between me and you even though I know it can put a lot of excess stress on a relationship or friendship or (fill in our status here). I’m sorry for any inconvenience I cause and any times I have to bail. I promise it’s not intentional. Thank you so much for reading this super long letter. I really appreciate you trying to understand. Never forget that you mean a lot to me and I really appreciate you in my life.

Now you know a little more and if you have ANY questions, ASK!!

November 17, 2009

Leave a Reply

