Letter to Normals (Part 8 – Only One More!!)

I also have some associated conditions like acid reflux, GERD, hypermobility, and Raynaud’s just to name a few. Most of them you probably know about, but I will explain Raynaud’s a little bit. Raynaud’s is a condition that I have in my nose and my fingers but differently. When I get stressed my nose and sometimes face, forehead, and scalp will feel really tingly and like I have bugs on my face. Sometimes it even goes numb. This is very uncomfortable for me. My fingers are affected by stress in the same way. However, the cold also causes my fingers to turn purple sometimes. I often try to hide this because I find it very embarrassing. If I ever pointed it out to you, it shows that I really trust you. If not, it doesn’t mean I don’t trust you. I just didn’t. Haha. No biggie. Anyway, after this happens my fingers often turn very red and may be very sensitive when I touch anything. This is different from the joint pain that I have in my fingers, but it is one of the symptoms I have from fibro.

Sometimes my joints get very hot. This is nothing to be alarmed about. It just happens sometimes Don’t be scared if you touch me and there is like heat radiating from me. Haha. That just happens sometimes especially when I’m already in pain. I may also be extremely light headed or thirsty at times. This also just happens because of my condition. Sometimes I may also feel short of breath or like I can’t breathe. I can tell the difference when this is caused by fibro or something else so it is nothing to be worried about either.

5 Comments »

  1. Charlotte Said:

    Thank you so much for posting these letters. I have Fibromyalgia too and, while I would not wish it on my worst enemy, it’s also comforting to know that there are people who understand and relate in such a personal, first-hand way.

    I often feel like people don’t believe me due to the unpredictability you mentioned. I can feel relatively fine, get ready to go someplace with a friend or family member, and just a few minutes into whatever we’re doing, it can hit me like a ton a bricks and I suddenly need to go home and lie down. The flare may last for several days, or I might feel considerably better in a matter of hours. There is truly no way to predict it, as you stated.

    I think I will begin working on my letters, and use yours as a guide, if I may. I will link back to you as well. Thanks again for sharing on such a personal level. It helps more than you know.

    • embrace72 Said:

      Of course you can! I would absolutely love that!!! =) I am so glad you could get some help from it. That means so much. I can totally relate to what you are talking about. My family and friends always laugh at me because when that happens to me and I’m out, I will literally just plop down wherever I am. The people in my life are never shocked to see my sitting under a clothing rack in a department store. Haha.

      • Charlotte Said:

        I would love to just plop down on the floor. The only thing that stops me is the fact that I’m never sure I’ll be able to get back up. 😆

  2. fibrofighter Said:

    Do people ever get frustrated with you when you’re cold all the time? So many friends think I’m nuts for shivering in 70 degrees. My renaud’s makes me wish I had a ski mask to wear in over-air conditioned houses and buildings.
    Love the letters, mine would have too many cuss words if I did this.

    • embrace72 Said:

      Haha. I intentionally did not write it with cuss words because at the time I had intentions of giving it to my mom to read. (She has never read it though). I feel the same way with Raynaud’s. My brother gets frustrated with me ALL THE TIME! The house is always freezing because of him and I am constantly told to get a blanket or sweater even though I am the one who will be in pain for days because he wants the A/C on high in the car and the house down to 68. I try not to complain too much when I’m actually out somewhere but the answer to your question is when people realize it, it is not unlikely for them to get frustrated with me. I try not to let it bother me though. =)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

