Letter to Normals (Part 2)

Everyone with fibro has different symptoms. “There is no way to just take a pill to make it go away, even for a little while.”  I take Aleve and I know I overuse it. I know I take more than I should and I know it’s bad for me, but without it there are times I can’t walk, brush my teeth, wash my hair, or even get dressed or out of bed. Aleve barely even helps 30% and barely takes the edge off, but if I take enough it usually helps me function. “That’s about the best I can hope for. “ My rheumatologist will not give me anything stronger, but I try not to take too much Aleve because I don’t want to hurt my body even worse. However, there are times when no matter how much medication I take, nothing helps and there is nothing I can do about it. “That’s just the way it goes. “

“There’s no cure for fibromyalgia and it won’t go away. If I am functioning normally, I am having a good day. This doesn’t mean I’m getting better because I suffer from chronic pain and fatigue for which there is no cure.” However, just because I’m functioning normally and seem happy, that doesn’t mean I am not in any level of discomfort or pain. “I can have good days, weeks, or even months.” But I will have fibromyalgia for the rest of my life. There is a certain percentage of people who get fibromyalgia and it progresses to get worse, and I hope I am not in that group. I have days where I feel great in the morning, and then all of a sudden I’m in a lot of pain and have absolutely no energy. I am absolutely exhausted. It can go the other way, too. I have times when I feel sick for an hour or two and then it goes away or vice versa. Just because it doesn’t last or sometimes lasts too long does not mean I am faking it. Like I said, I cannot control the way I feel. When I am in a lot of pain or even just because it is a symptom of fibro, I may get very irritable. If this happens, I will most likely be very quiet. This does not mean I am mad at you or hate you. I am just very uncomfortable. I know if I’m not quiet I may not be very nice and I don’t think you deserve to be treated that way. I’m just trying to cope with my condition in the best way I can. I don’t want it to affect your life negatively by having me treat you in a not-the-best way.

Leave a Reply

