Letter to Normals (Part 1)

I am so sorry that I have not posted in awhile, but that only means that I really, REALLY needed to post today.

Awhile ago, my friend e-mailed me and told me that she found something on her sister’s friend’s facebook called “Letter to Normals” and it talked about this girl’s experience with fibromyalgia. It is from the book Fibromyalgia:The First Year. (Please Note: I have not read this book, but I have seen it in book stores). We both have conditions and decided to write one for each other to explain our conditions.

If you are having unsupportive family members or just need to keep your feelings in order, then I suggest you try writing one.

There are parts of her letter that are copied directly and those parts are in quotes. I am giving it to you in pieces so that it is not too much at once. Here it is, exactly as I wrote it over a year ago:

There was a letter written by Claudia Merek called “Letter to Normals” about fibromyalgia and she says people can use it as a basis to write their own (what I’m doing). If you are reading this, either you asked to, I feel you don’t understand, you are denying it, you think it’s fake, or you wanted to learn/know more about it for some reason. The first thing to know is that if you have a question about my condition (or really anything for that matter), NEVER ever hesitate to ask me. I would rather you ask than leave something left unsaid. Every fibro book says it’s a responsibility to tell people how you are feeling and what you need when you are calm, but I will rarely do this.

“ Fibromyalgia isn’t all in my head, and it isn’t contagious. It doesn’t turn into anything serious and nobody ever died from fibromyalgia though they might have wished they could on really awful days. I can’t control how often I feel good or how often I feel terrible. If you want to read articles or books about fibromyalgia I can show you some that I think are good. If you just want to learn as we go along, that’s fine, too. This is definitely going to be a process. The first step is for you to believe that there is an illness called fibromyalgia and that I have it. This may sound simple, but when you hear about some of the symptoms I don’t want you to think I am making it up.”  I know you may get frustrated with the unpredictability of my condition, but I get frustrated, too. I did not choose to have it or make it up. I actually consider myself lucky to have fibromyalgia because I went through 2 sonograms, 2 ultra sounds, 3 urinalysis, an EKG, and 13 tubes of blood drawn to make sure it wasn’t anything worse. Any one of those tests could have come back worse and they didn’t. I only had low vitamins and minerals, which is to be expected with fibro. Therefore, I consider myself lucky.

2 Comments »

  1. Ginger Said:

    I just picked this book up yesterday and it is very well written and informative. I can’t put it down 🙂

  2. […] will post the continuation(s) of my Letter to Normals tomorrow […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

