Lyme Disease and Fibro..hype or reality??

For those of you who are active on forums and reading blogs on fibromyalgia, you have surely seen at least one post or comment with someone saying that fibromyalgia does not exist and it is actually lyme disease.

Is this true?
Well, I surely do not know.

I was tested for lyme, like nearly everyone else with fibromyalgia in order to rule it out. Needless to say, the test came back negative. I told the rheumatologist and other doctors that I had never had a tick. Ever. There was no way it could be lyme.

Then, today out of the blue I remembered. I was in 6th grade and sitting in the back of the classroom. I ran my fingers through my hair and I felt something. What was it? I tried to run my fingers through it thinking maybe someone threw a piece of paper at me or maybe it was just a leaf. I couldn’t get it out. I tried again and again pulling harder every time. Eventually, I got it out, it WAS a tick. I got scared and tried to throw it on the ground trying not to call attention to myself amidst my panic.

Did all of the legs come out?
I don’t know.
Did I end up getting a bulls-eye rash?
I don’t know.
Could I have lyme disease?
I don’t know.

However, here is what I believe to be true:

  1. Fibromyalgia is a real condition and so is lyme disease
  2. There are people with both lyme disease and fibromyalgia but there are also people with only one.
  3. Fibromyalgia is NOT always lyme disease no matter how inaccurate people claim the tests are for lyme disease.

Do I think, honestly, that I have lyme disease?
Absolutely not.
There are certain symptoms that go along with fibromyalgia, such as the tender points (or trigger points, depending on what you call them), that are not the same as lyme disease. Even though apparently there is new criteria (…sounds like I’m studying for an exam) for diagnosing fibro that does not include the trigger point test according to a fibromyalgia magazine from last year. I do not quite understand why they have taken this out, but perhaps that is a topic for another blog post. Anyway, there are certain symptoms in both conditions that do not overlap so they must be separate, no?

I would love to hear what you think.
Why not leave a comment and share??

Leave a Reply

