I have fibromyalgia, but I am not a fibromyalgic.

What? How can you have fibromyalgia but not be fibromyalgic, right?

WRONG!

There is so much power in the way sayings are phrased. How many heated discussions are truly the result of a miscommunication? How many times have you said something that “wasn’t what you meant”? The word “fibromyalgic” is a work to define people.People are far to complex and unique to EVER be defined by ANYTHING!  I believe that everyone and everything is beautiful in their own way and for different reasons. I choose to never “define” myself because there are no words, or combination of words, that will ever be able to fully capture me as a person. It is impossible.

Thus, I choose to say that I have fibromyalgia or that I am a person with fibromyalgia. I am not, nor will I ever be a fibromyalgic. Although my condition does affect my life in a great way, I am still me and much of me is so far passed fibromyalgia that it could never EVER describe me a person.

Fibromyalgia is a PART of me. It is not who I am. It is not who you are either.

You don’t have to give into that.

 

5 Comments »

  1. Charlotte Said:

    Great post! I have said before, about another condition I have, that it certainly affects my worldview, but that I refuse to let it become my worldview. Your post reminded me of that, and I now realize that I can apply the same general principal to living with fibromyalgia, and I do not have to view everything through fibro-colored glasses. 😉

    Thanks!

    • embrace72 Said:

      Absolutely! I’m glad you understand where I was coming from. The idea of “glasses” reminds me of that book 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens. Haha. When it is talking about paradigms (I had to google that. Haha. I think it is right though). And it talks about the different glasses you may be wearing affect what you see. Hopefully that made sense. Haha.

      • Charlotte Said:

        Makes perfect sense! Cheers! 😀

  2. Your blog has spoken to me. Too Young For Fibro – that’s how I feel. I am 22 years old and fibro has been in my family and unfortunately, I have begun to feel the symptoms. I actually just wrote a post about it because I am currently feeling the symptoms. I don’t have a lot of the symptoms – what I usually feel is random pain usually on my legs, arms, back and ribs. The slightest touch or poke will leave a burning sensation minutes after I felt it. Sleeping becomes difficult also because the pain I feel in my ribs from the mattress becomes unbearable. I am realizing that many people do not understand the feeling or know what it is. I’m not sure on your symptoms, but you’re not alone.

    • embrace72 Said:

      Thank you so much for commenting. I am sorry that you are not feeling well. Remember that you do not lose your life to fibromyalgia you just have to manage a life WITH fibromyalgia. It is difficult with people that do not understand, but you will find people that do understand or at least try to understand. I hope you have a better day.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

