Top 3 Fears with Fibromyalgia…

I find that, as with any illness, there are fears associated with my condition. Since different people are at different stages of their life, these fears may not be the same for every person with fibromyalgia. However, I am sure that there are other people that share these fears with me. Here they are:

  1. Family/Work – I am still in college so my life has barely even begun. One day, I plan on having a family and my own house. Things everyone wants and dreams of having when they are young. However, I worry about being a mother with fibromyalgia. What if I am having a flare and cannot take care of my children? What if, instead, my children have to take care of me? I want to be a great mother and give my future children all they want and need. I want them to grow up and thing that I was a great mother to them. I want to have a career and be  able to provide for them and myself. I do not want to end up on disability like so many other people with fibromyalgia.  I don’t want fibromyalgia to stop me from achieving all that I deserve and desire in life.
  2. Weight – Perhaps this is because I am young, but I do worry a lot about my weight. One of my biggest fears when I was diagnosed was becoming overweight. It is so common in people with fibromyalgia through no fault of their own. According to The Idiots Guide to Fibromyalgia, the average person gains 35 pounds in the first year they are diagnosed. I, personally, did not gain that much weight. However, I wonder if in the future I will.
  3. Future Illness – There are so many people who are diagnosed with fibromyalgia only to find out years later that it is something far worse. In comparison to all of the diseases people need to get tested for prior to getting the diagnosis of fibromyalgia, fibro is a blessing. I do not want to get even sicker one day and to find out that it was far worse than I ever could have imagined…

Can you relate?

What are your biggest fears with fibromyalgia?

Share them. Comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

